President & CEO Chris Parker Appointed to a Federal Reserve Bank of Boston Advisory Council Position

Parker-2Recently, the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston announced it has appointed new members to its advisory councils, including Northeast Credit Union President and CEO, Chris Parker. Chris will join the Community Depository Institutions Advisory Council (CDIAC) effective immediately for a three-year term.

The Boston Fed works to promote sound growth and financial stability. The Bank contributes to local communities, the region, and the nation by conducting economic research and participating in monetary policymaking. It also supervises certain financial institutions, provides financial services and payments, plays a leadership role in the payments industry, and supports economic well-being in communities through a variety of efforts.

Advisory council members provide insight to Bank leadership on matters of importance in New England by sharing on-the-ground industry and sector-based insight on local economies throughout Connecticut, Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Maine.

“The new advisory council members represent crucial voices of the community,” said Carmen Panacopoulos, a senior business strategy manager at the Bank. “They advise Bank leadership on the economy and a wide range of issues of importance, ultimately helping to ensure we have a vibrant New England economy. We’re happy to have selected Chris Parker to represent the perspectives of credit unions and the members they serve.”

The 12-member CDIAC represents commercial banks, thrifts, and credit unions with assets of less than $10 billion.

“Being appointed to the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston’s Community Depository Institutions Advisory Council is a tremendous honor for Northeast Credit Union and our members,” Parker said. “This opportunity will benefit our members and ultimately enable us to better serve them and the communities we work and live in with matters that are impacting our local economies.”

Learn more about the Community Depository Institutions Advisory Committee.