Download the NECU app on iTunes. Dismiss

Twenty-five extraordinary Northeast Credit Union student-members have been selected as recipients of Northeast Credit Union’s (NECU) 2019 Scholarship Awards. $40,000 in scholarships were awarded to student-members in New Hampshire and Southern Maine, who displayed exceptional leadership among their peers and demonstrated a commitment to academics and to their communities.

“Furthering my education is important to me because it will provide me with the opportunity to follow my dream of becoming a Pediatric Oncology Nurse Practitioner,” said Allison Theriault, an NECU scholarship recipient. “Not everyone is able to continue their education, so I feel incredibly grateful that I am. Every year, the cost of education increases, making it extremely difficult to obtain a degree. This generous scholarship will go directly towards my tuition at Endicott College, and I am so thankful that Northeast Credit Union has recognized my hard work.”

NECU promotes the simple message, Love your Community (LYC), in an effort to encourage others to be active members in the communities they live and work in. When asked what it means to Love Your Community, scholarship recipient Nickolas Heysler replied, “I believe in sharing the love my community has shown me and paying it forward to others. Through the various clubs I’ve participated in, I’ve had many opportunities to give back to my community. Northeast Credit Union is part of our very generous and caring community here in the Mount Washington Valley. It means a lot to me that my credit union gives back to the students and members in our community.”

“There’s no better feeling than helping the student-members of our Northeast Credit Union family reach their goals,” said Northeast Credit Union’s President and CEO Timothy J. Collia. “Each year, it becomes more and more difficult for us to choose the recipients from such a large pool of talented and deserving young people. We are eager to award these scholarships to our student-members and are excited to see their success in their future endeavors.”

This year, the program awarded students from 16 different high schools. NECU is thrilled to announce the 2019 scholarship recipients include:

Peter J. Kavalauskas Memorial Scholarship
Jillian Lefebvre, Berlin High School

Roger G. Marois Memorial Scholarship
Allison Theriault, Berlin High School

Bart M. DallaMura Memorial Scholarship
Collin Else, Dover High School

Community Champion Scholarship
Willem Federico, Dover High School
Jordan West, Kennett High School

Northeast Credit Union Scholarship
Matthew Juhn Panga, Phillips Exeter Academy
Emma Chestnut, Kennebunk High School
Madeline Flagg, Brewster Academy
Morgan Leblanc, Thornton Academy
Emma Lanseigne, Sanborn Regional High School
Lily Martson, Coe Brown Northwood Academy
Kelsey Alimandi, Berlin High School
Grace Jordan, Portsmouth High School
Libby Nett, Berlin High School
Lauren Dube, Portsmouth High School
Haley Coulombe, Berlin High School
Grace Vachon, Somersworth High School
Nickolas Heysler, Kennett High School
Catherine Shaw, Scarborough High School
Maxwell Tuttle, Prospect Mountain High School
Nicholas Grimbilas, Bishop Brady High School
Molly Hyde, Oyster River High School
Bryce Gauthier, Gorham High School
Nicole Kingdon, Dover High School
Benjamin Stone, Dover High School