Download the NECU app on iTunes. Dismiss

Portsmouth, NH – Twenty-four extraordinary Northeast Credit Union student-members have been selected as recipients of Northeast Credit Union’s 2020 Scholarship Awards. $40,000 in scholarships were awarded to student-members in New Hampshire and Southern Maine, who displayed exceptional leadership among their peers, and demonstrated a commitment to academics and to their communities.

“Your generosity has made a profound impact on my life and I am truly grateful to be a recipient of your scholarship” said Anna Roberge, a Love Your Community Scholarship recipient. “It is an honor to be recognized for my hard work, and receiving this scholarship motivates me to continue to strive for excellence.”

Northeast Credit Union promotes the simple message, Love your Community (LYC), in an effort to encourage others to be active members in the communities they live and work in. When asked what it means to Love Your Community, scholarship recipient Crystal Brackett, a nursing student replied, “I plan to make a positive difference in the world by continuing to give back to my community, to treat every patient like they are my loved one and being kind.”

“When I think of our 2020 scholarship recipients the word resilient comes to mind. These talented and deserving students have ended their academic year differently than anticipated, however, they have handled it with humility and support for one another,” said Northeast Credit Union’s President and CEO Timothy J. Collia. “There is no better feeling than recognizing and helping our student-members of Northeast Credit Union reach their goals. We are excited to see and share in their success in their future endeavors.”

This year, the program awarded students from 16 different schools. Northeast Credit Union is thrilled to announce the 2020 scholarship recipients include:

Peter J. Kavalauskas Memorial Scholarship
Crystal Brackett, Southern ME Community College

Roger G. Marois Memorial Scholarship
Christal Toussaint, Spaulding High School

Bart M. DallaMura Memorial Scholarship
Sawyer Rogers, Exeter High School

Community Champion Scholarship
Alexis DeBlois, Alvirne High School
Kathleen Erin McCafferty, Portsmouth High School

Love Your Community Scholarship
Alexandra Wheeler, Coe Brown Northwood Academy
Anna Roberge, Gorham Middle-High School
Connor Cossette, Somersworth High School
Emily Cheevers, Lebanon High School
Griffin Bradley Richards, Exeter High School
Haley Jessica Norton, Berlin Senior High School
Jenni Dudley, Dover High School
Joseph Morrell, Oyster River High School
Julia Campion, R.W. Traip Academy
Kaitlyn Gerhard, Dover High School
Karis Hakala, Portsmouth High School
Madison Baggs, Dover High School
Natalie E. Ouellette, Nobel High School
Phoebe Tyler, Exeter High School
Ryan C. Ouellet, Exeter High School
Ryan Pottier, St. Thomas Aquinas High School
Samuel Haas, Dover High School
Timothy Grosky, Spaulding High School

Adult Achievement Scholarship
Sydney Page, The University of Rhode Island

To learn more about The Northeast Credit Union Scholarship Program, and to see a video commencement prepared for this year’s scholarship recipients please visit